Skip to content Skip to navigation

Countering Anti-Muslim Racism in Classrooms and Schools: 6-12th Grade Curriculum

Photo: / AFSC

Countering Anti-Muslim Racism in Classrooms and Schools is a 6-12th grade curriculum aligned to Common Core.

Since the 1960s, the United States has witnessed a steady rise in violent incidents and policies that intimidate, harm, and exclude Muslim communities. As critical educators, we have a responsibility to actively confront and dismantle Islamophobia and anti-Muslim racism in our schools and classrooms. We have designed this curriculum to help students better understand anti-Muslim racism, its historical antecedents, and its contemporary implications and consequences for Muslim communities across the United States. 

Register for our Fall Training Webinar!  September 26th @ 8-9:30pm ET// 7-8:30pm CT//6-7:30pm MT//5-6:30pm PT 

During this interactive webinar we'll learn about two innovative curricula:

This webinar is in partnership with Teaching for Change/Zinn Education Project, Muslim ARC, University of Illinois-Chicago College of Education, and the Massachusetts Teachers Association.

Video of Spring Training Webinar for Curriculum:

Creating Cultural Competencies is a collaborative effort between the College of Education at the University of Illinois-Chicago and the American Friends Service Committee-Chicago.​

Double your impact today!

Give by Nov 30 and your gift will be matched up to $1 million. Join our Change Maker Matching Gift Challenge and strengthen our work for a better world.

Give Now →

CLOSE   X