Skip to content Skip to navigation

AFSC and the Nobel Peace Prize

In 1947, the American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) and British Friends Service Council accepted one of the most prestigious awards in the world—the Nobel Peace Prize—on behalf of Quakers worldwide. The prize recognized 300 years of Quaker efforts to heal rifts and oppose war. In particular, it named the work done by the two recipient Quaker organizations during and after the two world wars to feed starving children and help Europe rebuild itself. Read more.

Taking your nominations

As a Nobel laureate, AFSC can nominate a candidate for the peace prize to the Oslo Committee each year. We canvass widely among Quakers and others for potential nominees. Each spring, we invite you to participate in our quest for nominees for the next year's prize. Learn how to make your nomination.

Our past nominations

Since 1947, AFSC and Quaker Peace & Social Witness (formerly Friends Service Council) have nominated individuals or groups for the Nobel Peace Prize. Several nominees have won the prize, although often a few years after our nomination, including the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., President Jimmy Carter, and Archbishop Desmond Tutu. See past nominations. 

Our 2021 nomination

Mwatana for Human Rights & Campaign Against Arms Trade

Learn more about these two organizations working to uphold human rights and build peace.