Skip to content Skip to navigation

AFSC structure

This quick guide to the American Friends Service Committee's (AFSC) structure is intended to help you find the office you wish to contact.

Programs in the United States are a part of one of four U.S. regions: West, Midwest, South, and Northeast. The map below shows the regional boundaries. Before 2012, AFSC had nine U.S. regions. 

Map of AFSC's four U.S. regions

AFSC has four international regions as well: Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East.  

AFSC has a small number of administrative support units—Communications, Development, Finance, Human Resources, and Information Technology Services, which are largely located in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.


AFSC is incorporated as a charity in Pennsylvania and is classified by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service as a tax-deductible “association of churches.”

The legal governing body is a corporation, composed of members appointed by Quaker meetings from across the country, which meets yearly. A smaller Board of Directors meets more regularly and is charged with establishing policies, considering and approving an annual budget, and appointing the General Secretary, one of two positions that must be filled by a Quaker.

Make your tax-deductible gift by 12/31!

Support compassionate, courageous work for peace with justice.

Give Now →