Skip to content Skip to navigation

Prepare and breathe: Bystander intervention and de-escalation training

Tuesday, Nov. 10, from 7:30 to 9:30 p.m. ET/ 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. CT / 5:30 to 7:30 MT / 4:30 to 6:30 PT

With election day behind us, many are concerned about a potential rise in violence in response to the results. Everyone should be able to live in safety and peace and have their human and civil rights respected. In this election season and beyond, threats of harassment–and even armed violence–are growing and playing out in our communities. One way to help keep our communities safe is by having lots of people around the country showing up in their communities, at protests, and other public places with skills in bystander intervention and de-escalation tactics. Preparation increases our collective capacity to show up and stand in the face of the unknown.

AFSC is offering a training for anyone who wants exposure to and reminders of proven techniques for countering violence, whether it comes from a single person or a group of people. Will you join us?

In this training, we will consider scenarios and teach skills in: 

  • Staying calm when faced with tense situations, verbal altercations, or violence.
  • Intervening when folks are harassing community members
  • Interrupting/de-escalating violence at protests and beyond.
  • Responding thoughtfully and creating safety in the face of armed attacks or violence.

We don’t have all the answers but hope our workshop will help you build your skills and leave you feeling more prepared to navigate tensions in ways that contribute to your safety and the safety of those around you. 

Captioning and Spanish interpretation will be available for those who need it.

Discount on social justice t-shirts, totes, and more!

From Black Friday until Cyber Monday, use the code HOLIDAY at checkout to get 10% off your purchase at the AFSC store.

Shop AFSC Now →

CLOSE   X