Skip to content Skip to navigation

Policing and the war on terror

Thursday, October 14 at 8:00 p.m. ET / 7:00 p.m. CT / 5:00 p.m. PT

The post 9/11 war on terror framework further legitimized the targeting and criminalization of Muslim, immigrant and Black communities and produced techniques, agencies, and concepts of policing that are increasingly being used on all communities of color and protesters.  We will look at militarized policing, the development of ICE, fusion centers, "pre-crime," the use of community leaders and social service organizations in surveillance, and what local communities are doing to push back.

Speakers:  Dr. Maha Hilal (Justice for Muslims Collective - DC, and author of the forthcoming Innocent Until Proven Muslim), Fatema Ahmad (Executive Director of the Muslim Justice League - Boston), and Pedro Rios from AFSC's US/Mexico Border Program in San Diego.  Moderated by Mary Zerkel from AFSC's Chicago Peacbuilding program. 

Compassion in Action Matching Gift Challenge

Your gift will be matched from now until Nov. 18.
Give to the Compassion in Action Matching Gift Challenge from now until Nov. 18 to double your impact.

Give Now →

CLOSE   X