Skip to content Skip to navigation

"Carving Out Rights From Inside the Prison Industrial Complex" webinar

Dec. 10, 2020, 8 p.m. ET / 7 p.m. CT / 5 p.m. PT

We all deserve dignity and to have our human rights respected. But today, more than 2.3 million are locked up in prisons, jails, and detention centers, where they face human rights violations and inadequate health care amid a pandemic.

Join us on International Human Rights Day as we explore the limits and ideals of human rights in a carceral state. This special webinar kicks off our National Days of Action to Free Them All, calling for the release of people in this pandemic as we work toward a world without incarceration. 

We’ll also celebrate the forthcoming book “Carving Out Rights From Inside the Prison Industrial Complex”, featuring the artwork of people incarcerated at Statesville Prison, and essays and poetry by noted activists and artists.

Our 90-minute program will include a panel discussion as well as performances by musician Damon Locks and poets Tara Betts and Eric Blackmon.

Co-sponsored by American Friends Service Committee, Prison + Neighborhood Arts/Education Project, Justseeds Artists’ Cooperative,  Hat & Beard Press, PO Box Collective.