Skip to content Skip to navigation

Simone Campbell to Keynote Dingman Dinner Honoring Sally Frank

Simone Campbell to Keynote Dingman Dinner Honoring Sally Frank

Saturday, March 9, 2013 - 11:00pm

Sr. Simone Campbell,

Drake Law Professor Sally Frank

 headline Dingman Peace Award Dinner 

Featured speaker on the national stage and 

local advocate for 1st Amendment follow

in late Bishop's tracks  

DES MOINES - (Catholic Peace Ministry news services) Sister Simone Campbell, who gained national acclaim for 'Nuns on the Bus' and Sally Frank, local scholar and courtroom guardian protecting the First Amendment, will headline the 18th Annual Maurice J. Dingman Peace Award Dinner on March 9th, 2013 at Our Lady's Immaculate Heart Church in Ankeny.

Catholic Peace Ministry’s Maurice J. Dingman Peace Award is given each year in memory and in honor of Maurice Dingman, the late Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Des Moines revered for his commitment to justice, peace and equality.

Catholic Peace Ministry is not affiliated with the local Diocese but is an independent organization that survives on the generosity of its grassroots donations. The Dingman Dinner helps to sustain the organization every year.

This year's award winner, Sally Frank has for years been a scholar of the U.S. Constitution and educated at Drake University protecting the Bill of Rights. She has for decades defended the First Amendment rights of Iowans who have used the Bill of Rights to challenge U.S. foreign and domestic policy.

She has been successful winning some cases and her work has been noted in the New York Times and by reporter Reka Basu of the Des Moines Register.

In the case of the Federal indictments against peace protestors in 2003, the defendants also had the support of both U.S. Senators Tom Harkin and Charles Grassley who felt (along with the courts) Homeland Security overstepped its boundaries.

"Sally Frank is  one of those rare intellectuals and academics who has not forgotten that we are all expected to contribute  as citizens," said Jeffrey J. Weiss of CPM.

 ('From the Classroom to the Courtroom')

Sister Simone Campbell has been recently featured in several national magazines, including Rolling Stone (November 22, 2012)

She was also vocal on the 'Nuns on the Bus' tours.

Sister Simone Campbell brought down crowds around the U.S. with the message:

"I am my Sister's keeper! I am my brother's keeper! Nuns on the Bus believes in faith, family and caring for the least among us. Let us live in compassion with one another."

Tickets can be purchased for $40 or $320 for a table of eight through or 515 554 7899. We will not turn away anybody at the door for an inability to pay---all our welcome.


(It is also with sadness as we prepare for 2013, that we remember last year's award recipient, Joshua Casteel, who passed into the invisible world. Joshua graced us with his presence in March of this year before dying in August).

We love you, Joshua and family, and if it be God's Will, to see you again).  


 (Joshua's acceptance speech at the Dingman Dinner on March 31, 2012)



Past Peace Award Recipients and Keynote Speakers:

1996: Helen Tichy – Bishop Thomas J. Gumbleton

1997: Sr. Gwen Hennessey, OSF – U.S. Sen. Tom Harkin

1998: Women’s International League for Peace and Freedom, Des Moines Branch (WILPF) – Jim Wallis, Sojourners

1999: Phil Riley and Paul Stanfield – Rev. William Sloane Coffin, Jr.

2000: Jean and Bill Basinger – Sr. Helen Prejean, CSJ

2001: Rev. Gil Dawes – Sr. Joan Chittister, OSB

2002: Rev. Bob Cook – Rev. John Dear, SJ

2003: A.F.S.C. Iowa Program – Ched Myers

2004: Iowa United Methodist Bishop Gregory Vaughn Palmer – Rosemary Radford Ruether, PhD.

2005: Trinity United Methodist Church of Des Moines – Jack Nelson-Pallmeyer

2006: Sherry Hutchison – Fr. Roy Bourgeois, MM

2007: Eloise Cranke, and Rev. Chet Guinn – Charlie King, Karen Brandow and the Prince Myshkins

2008: Des Moines Area JustFaith – Liz McAlister

2009: Chuck Day and Harold Wells – Kathy Kelly

2010: Helen Oster and Chris Gaunt – Jack Jezreel, Just Faith

2011: Iowa Women Religious and their Communities - Tom Cordaro 

2012:  Joshua Casteel - Bishop Thomas J. Gumbleton Aaron Jorgensen-Briggs

4211 Grand Avenue

Des Moines, IA 50312

515 554 7899

Find us on 'Facebook' at 'Catholic Peace Ministry'



Our Lady's Immaculate Heart Church
510 E. First
Ankeny , IA