Act now to raise NH minimum wage
New Hampshire's minimum wage is stuck at the federal level, $7.25 an hour, the lowest in New England. In fact, following legislative action in 2011, the state doesn't even have the authority to set its own minimum wage. This year four bills were introducted in the New Hampshire legislature to restore state authority to set a minimum wage. SB 77 would have left it at that, i.e. it would simply restore a state minimum wage but leave at at $7.25. It was tabled in the Senate after receiving a party-line "inexpedient to legislate" recommendation from the Commerce Committee.
Three other bills, introduced in the House, would have raised the minimum wage. But by the time the House acted on them, two bills were defeated and the raise was stripped out of the third, HB 501.
HB 501, which is now identical to SB 77, is pending before the Senate Commerce Committee.
The National Employment Law Project has an excellent web page with all the facts and research you need to communicate with lawmakers.
This is a good time to contact your Senator to let her/him know the state's lowest-wage workers need a raise. Click here to find the contact information for your legislators.
AFSC has a posted more background materials to help you communicate with your legislators.